The Nevada CCW Course will provide you with a Certificate of Completion and Firearm Proficiency Certificate satisfying the first step to carrying a concealed firearm in Nevada and 30+ other states.
The course consists of classroom instruction covering the following topics: basic firearm knowledge, ammunition knowledge, safe handling of ammunition, cleaning and care of a firearm, methods of safe firearm storage inside and outside the home, handgun shooting techniques and positions, safety rules for carrying and using a handgun/pistol, state laws pertaining to the use of deadly force, knowledge of avoiding criminal attacks and controlling a violent confrontation, methods of safe firearm storage inside and outside the home, and methods of carrying a concealed firearm.
ELIGIBILITY (Please read before you register for the course)
You are NOT eligible for a permit to carry a concealed weapon if any of the following applies to you:
(A) If you are not at least 21 years of age; or at least 18 years of age but less than 21 years of age and:
(1) Are a member of the Armed Forces of the United States, a reserve component thereof or the National Guard; or
(2) Was discharged or released from service in the Armed Forces of the United States, a reserve component thereof or the National Guard under dishonorable conditions.
(B) If you do not provide the required documentation to demonstrate competence with a firearm.
(C) If you have an outstanding warrant for your arrest.
(D) If you have been judicially declared incompetent or insane.
(E) If you have been voluntarily or involuntarily admitted to a mental health facility during the immediately preceding 5 years.
(F) If you have habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that your normal facilities are impaired. It is presumed that you have so used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance if, during the immediately preceding 5 years, you have been:
(1) Convicted of violating the provisions of NRS 484.379 (driving under the influence); or
(2) Committed for treatment pursuant to NRS 458.290 to 458.350, inclusive (substance abuse).
(G) If you have been convicted of a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence punishable as a misdemeanor under the laws of this or any other state, or a territory or possession of the United States at any time during the immediately preceding 3 years.
(H) If you have been convicted of a felony in this state or under the laws of any state, territory or possession of the United States.
(I) If you have been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or you are currently subject to a restraining order, injunction or other order for protection against violence.
(J) If you are currently on parole or probation from a conviction obtained in this state or in any other state or territory or possession of the United States.
(k) If you have, within the immediately preceding 5 years, been subject to any requirements imposed by a court of this state or of any other state or territory or possession of the United States, as a condition to the court’s:
(1) Withholding of the entry of judgment for your conviction of a felony; or
(2) Suspension of your sentence for the conviction of a felony.
(L) If you have made a false statement on any application for a permit or for the renewal of a permit.
(M) If you have been discharged or released from service in the Armed Forces of the United States, a reserve component thereof or the National Guard under conditions other than honorable conditions and is less than 21 years of age
A written and live fire shooting proficiency test will be administered.
THIS IS NOT A FUNDAMENTALS OR BASIC INSTRUCTIONAL COURSE THIS IS NOT A BEGINNER'S COURSE.
If you are interested in learning the basics of pistol/handgun shooting, please register for one of our Basics of Pistol Shooting courses, prior to this one.